Butterfly.edu – a new take on online ESL

Dear readers, I know I’ve been absent for a while. Life has been so busy and I’ve just gotten overwhelmed with things. But today I’m back to share with you a new side gig I’ve picked up alongside VIPKid. Since I’m done teaching my major courses at 8 am EST, I’ve got quite a long day to fill while the kids are at school. Mocks definitely make up a part of my day, but there’s almost always some extra time in between classes. Two weeks ago, I was introduced to Butterfly by a dear friend.

What is Butterfly?

Butterfly.edu is currently in Phase 1 of its startup. It’s goal is to basically be the YouTube of ESL videos. Their videos are both curriculum and field trip based. Currently Butterfly plans to begin in Korea and Japan. Their official launch date is unknown at the moment.

What are they looking for?

Right now, Butterfly is looking for an unknown number of videos. Field trip videos are especially in high demand. Field trip videos should be at least 2 minutes long, and curriculum videos should be 3-5 minutes long.

I’m a teacher, my video skills are limited. Can I apply?

While having editing skills will definitely come in handy, they aren’t super necessary here. You can film field trips on your phone (as long as they’re in the horizontal position) and you can edit on your phone or computer. I usually shoot my videos in short clips on my phone so I can easily edit them.

For your curriculum videos, film them in your classroom and make sure to wear a headset so your voice is loud and clear. I’ve found Filmora is a great tool for editing and when I emailed them, they gave me an educators discount. Bonus!

Let’s talk money.

Currently, for every video Butterfly accepts, you will be paid 10$ USD a video. However, if you take the time to add subtitles to your video, you will receive 10.50$ a video. I recommend using kapwing.com for these. It has a learning curve, but once you get the hang of it, it works well and it’s free! Free is always best.

Once a video has been approved, Butterfly pays for it within 24-48 hours via PayPal. Awesome! Quick money is always helpful. Make sure to keep track of your videos for tax purposes. Just like VIPKid, you will need to file your own taxes.

How can I join Butterfly?

The first step in joining Butterfly is filling out this Google form: http://tiny.cc/3cv4hz

Please use my name as your referral to Butterfly: Elayna Doucet. Thank you! Once you’ve applied, the next step is to fill out the video release form, send in and intro and follow the steps in your welcome packet! Make sure to remove other company logos from your area before filming your intro video.

As always teachers, have fun!